Theo’s Four Doors

Posted: May 27, 2012 in Travel
Tags: , ,

 

Justin Wilson, Cajun cook and storyteller
1914 - 2001

   Note: I don’t know for sure, but I attribute this story to Justin Wilson.

   Theodore had just bought a new $10.00 cuspidor for his store located back in the swamplands of Southern Louisiana. He was hoping it would keep the loafers from spitting their tobacco juice on the floor. Boudreaux walks in to Theodore’s store. “Hey, Theodore, what’s new ‘wit you today?”

“Nothing,” Theodore replies,”Ever’ day is de same ol’ ting.”

“Now, how come you say ‘at? Tings change. Well, Ah kin see ‘at just today your place has changed – yo got four doors now,” says Boudreaux.

“What duz you mean, ‘four doorz’? he asks. “I don’ hav four doorz, I only gots the two, da fron’ door and de back door.”

“No, you’ve got four doorz, and $10 says I kin prove it.” challenges Boudreaux.

Being unable to resist a bet, Theodore takes the bet,”Okay, then prove it, Monsieur Big-Talk”

“Okay,” Boudreaux begins. “You got th’ front door, and ‘yo got th’ back door — that’s two doorz.”

“I already ‘node that,” said Theodore.

“Now, what’s ‘yo name?” Boudreaux asks. “Well, you knows my name,” replies Theodore. “Yeah, well sa’ yo name.” “It’s Theodore,”

Boudreaux repeats his name,”TheoDORE, now ‘at’s one mo’ door. That makes three doorz.”

Theodore says, “I’ll give you that, but there ain’t no fourth door.”

“Oh yes there is,” Boudreaux said, “I see ‘yo have a new cuspiDOR, and that makes four doorz. So gi’me my ten dollars.”

Theodore pays him, but he’s upset because now he’s out $20 for the cuspidor. About that time, Thibodaux walks in the door, and Theodore sees an opportunity… “Hey, Thibodaux, how you like the new place?” Theodore calls.

“What you mean new? ‘Tall looks th’ same to me,” replies Thibodaux.

“Oh, no! I got me four doorz now,” says Theodore.

Thibodaux looks around and says,”Where?”

Theodore says, “Well, fo’ ten dolla I’ll show you. You got th’ front door, and ‘yo got th’ back door — that’s two doorz.”

“I already ‘node that,” said Thibodaux.

“Now, what’s mah name?” Theodore asks. “Well, you knows “yo name,” says Thibodaux. “Yeah, well sa’ mah name, Thibodaux.”

“It’s Theodore,” Thibodaux says. Theodore repeats his name,”TheoDORE, that’s one mo’ door. That makes three doorz.”

Thibodaux says, “I’ll give you that, but there ain’t no fourth door.”

“Oh yes there is,” Boudreaux said, “You see, I bought me one of them…

I bought one of them… ”

and Theodore was at a loss for words. “Ah, that damned ol’ spittoon done cost me thirty dolla today already!”

What do you think about this?

